Frank will be 80 next month

Spin Off

20140805-203430-74070606.jpg

Frank (above, third from the left) will be 80 next month.

I’m hoping he doesn’t mind too much that I’ve let his cat out of the bag, but I thought you should know. Becoming eighty years old doesn’t happen every month, especially when you still work two days a week for a large and successful organisation, which Frank does. Which matters to him.

It matters to me because Frank, inadvertently, gave me my first big break into middle management. He was a head of department in a large urban college, and had just turned sixty-five. In those days no one had heard of age discrimination, nor dreamt that retirement ages could soon push towards seventy. In fact, most people seemed to leave at fifty-five and take ten years’ worth of pension enhancement with them. Happy days. So Frank retired, just a few months past the then national retirement age for…

View original post 1,432 more words

About dp40days

A senior leader in Further and Higher Education, now based in Moray (pronounced "Murray") on the coast of the Scottish Highlands. (I know, I love paradox). We have more sunshine and less rain each year than my previous home in Manchester, and our football team is doing better too! You can find me on Twitter as @DP40days. Blogs so far have either been about FE, or about a Trans-Siberian Journey to Japan that I took last year. Fáilte romhat!
This entry was posted in FE Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

